Google+

Many of us love sharing our photos with the World when we post these on Facebook but do you really want a computer program automatically telling the World who you are based on images posted on the site?

Facebook have been rolling out a face recognition feature for some time, but today it was released outside the USA for the first time.  Called “Tag Suggestions” the software tries to match names with people in photos you upload to the site.

It is turned ON by default – so this is an opt out feature rather than an opt in one.

How does it work?

It scans the faces of people in tagged pictures and matches the data against other pictures so users can tag them automatically. On your facebook settings page the explanation of the feature appears like this:

This feature uses a comparison of photos you’re tagged in to suggest that friends tag you in new photos.

You’re always in control of your tags on Facebook:

  • Only friends can tag you in photos
  • We’ll notify you when a friend has tagged you
  • You can remove a friend’s tag at any time
  • Tag suggestions are based only on photos you’ve allowed yourself to be tagged in

For some of you, this may be another feature of the social media site that you would like to have some fun with. For others, it may be something you are aghast at.  So, if you want to put a paper bag over your face…..book, there is a way to do it and here it is:

  1. Go to the “Account” tab in the top right hand corner
  2. Click on “Privacy settings”
  3. Click “Customise settings” (bottom centre of page)
  4. Scroll down to “Things others share”
  5. Click “Edit settings” next to “Suggest photos of me to friends”
  6. Choose “Disable”  from the drop down
  7. Click “Okay” in the bottom right hand corner.

 


Remember that you are in control of all the settings on your Facebook page and you should ensure that the settings are as you want them.  So while you are in your account privacy settings take time to review and decide how all of your information is shared and with whom.

Your privacy is at stake and, like putting a seat belt on when you get into a car, it’s your responsibility to protect yourself.

Share this with everyone you know on Facebook and let us know if you chose to leave this feature on or not.